The King’s Head is a beautiful and historical venue that has been a social hub in the local area for over 100 years.
We are an independent Gastro Pub and Restaurant and we are proud to use only the freshest ingredients delivered daily, to serve Fine Food, Freshly Cooked With ♥. All of our dishes are freshly prepared by our Head Chef, Dan Humphries and his team who use seasonal ingredients to push boundaries with food and come up with new and innovative dishes that you just don’t see in chains of restaurants.
Trained locally at The Birmingham College of Food, Dan advises that taste and choice are top of his priority list when developing new dishes and menus and this is reflected in our extensive menu of English and Continental dishes as well as Daily Specials.
In addition to our sumptuous, elegant restaurant, we also offer great value for money with a wide range of beers, wines, cocktails and beverages in our spacious, open plan lounge bar.
Not being part of a chain means all of our customers are as individual as we are and given a warm, homely welcome.
The history of The King’s Head was kindly researched for us by Dr Chris Upton, Newman University, Birmingham.
To view a potted version of The King’s Head history, take a look at our history wall located on our Outdoor Terrace area.
A famous Birmingham landmark for over a century, located at the main Hagley Road and Bearwood Road junction, The King’s Head appeared on the first Ordnance Survey Map as a Coaching Inn in 1833, but the earliest recorded “Victualler” who ran the establishment was William Gray in 1818.
The new King’s Head as we know it today, was built for the Holt Brewery Co in 1905 in fashionable Tudor style by architects Owen & Ward and displayed decorative tiles by Maws and tile paintings of English castles on the walls of the smoke room by Samuel Evans of Smethwick
Possibly the longest serving Landlord recorded was Albert “Bert” Tudor from 1921 to 1945. Bert’s descendants Sheila Drinkwater (grand-daughter) and Karen Marston (great grand-daughter) were kind enough to supply us with an image of Bert and some fascinating images of the venue which can be seen on the Outdoor Terrace and some of our marketing materials. In the pub trade for most of his life, Bert started his career at the Jewellers Arms in Hockley Street, Birmingham before eventually going on to manage the Coach & Horses in Soho Road and then moving to The King’s Head for the next 24 years.
In the 1960’s The King’s Head was a popular music venue with ‘The Morgue’ located in the cellar hosting many of the great Brummie bands of the time, most notably the Moody Blues, Spencer Davis Group and the Uglys (with Steve Gibbons).
The 1970’s saw the Hagley Road widened outside The King’s Head and by 1985 the venue had received a refurbishment by Newmarsh Ltd, a subsidiary of Ansells. The 1990’s saw a change of name for the King’s Head to The Quantum Experience but this turned out to be a short term change with the name being changed back to The King’s Head in 2007 following a £1.5 million refurbishment and becoming The King’s Head that we know today.